A Tale of Two Worlds

Aren’t you afraid?… I’m terrified. I remember the time I looked at the picture you had on the desk in the foyer, and all the steppe behind you. Such immensity makes me shiver. Like the time we travelled around Istanbul on the ferry, do you remember how sick I was? And I can’t take out of my mind the boundless sea, the immense steppe, and I feel trapped, and I just… I feel the same way now. The vast uncertainty is bringing me down, and I need you to understand that you can’t go, not now!

Press my hand, and feel how warm it is. Caress my palm, and give me the tenderest kiss. You know you can yell at me, don’t you? Do it! Just don’t fall asleep. Don’t let me go. I’ll remember the chores, just don’t take that coach. Listen to me, please! You have given me the best years of my life. You fulfilled me. Don’t ever leave me… let me always feel you close.

The day you died I slept next to you. I think I fainted, but I remember seeing you. Like a vanishing watercolor, reminding me that some day, you’ll be there to carry me home.


I know you are afraid, and it is not for yourself. I know it is for me and the world. You can see what happens when injustice smites, and I can see you: a boy who is smitten with a boy. It is fascinating as it is incomprehensible, how one can love without seeing. I know you are there, outside in the wild, but so mild.

I wish your eyes were mine. If they were, the would see me as I see you. I wish your ears were mine. If they were, they would hear my name as I hear your name. But sight and hearing were never enough for the lovers. I wish I could taste, touch, smell, the mornings of your days.

If I could, I would lean on you. You would see so many things if I just could.

Text by [Alberto Lizárraga](albertolizarraga.svbtle.com)

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

The Voice of Reason

Society is inclined to look at the past with a grim smile and yearn for golden days of past eras. We recognize with infallible knowledge errors and blessings of the past recollections which led us to the present moment. We are all in... Continue →